Notifications
Clear all

Télémaque's ideal reader age, poster design and paradoxical humor (plus Gilbert Robin's legacy)  

Maaheen Ahmed

Hi Christophe,

Many thanks for the fascinating talk. I'm totally new to the magazine (and to periodical studies in general!), so apologies for this string of questions!

a. Do you have a rough idea of the target age of Télémaque's readers? Did it have competition? (I'm only familiar with a few comics magazines of  the era but I'm wondering if there were other, more serious publications for the youth). 

b. Your PowerPoint mentions that worries about the French youth was reflected in poster designs. Would it be possible to elaborate further on that? 

c. You also mention the magazine's paradoxical humour - do you have examples for that?

d. Lastly, I'd like to know more about Gilbert Robin's legacy. Did his ideas eventually have some influence? 

Looking forward to your response! 

Christophe Premat

Dear Maaheen, Many thanks for these relevant questions!

a. From what I read, the target age of the magazine is 15-20 years old. The magazine tried to have a niche with this population as the competition was important (there were many magazines for the years 10-14 in this period, the Christian periodicals were quite important). The specificity was to devote more time to sports and culture (in the sense of leisure activities). The scout movement with Baden-Powell had also an increasing influence at that period, the "scout movement" is dealt with in different pages.